Block Island Ferry - 866.783.7996 - Click Here to Sail Away!

Visit Newport, an American city with centuries of history to visit.

The Colonial and seaside city of Newport was a thriving seaport well before the founding of the United States. For visitors, Newport is famous for its Gilded-Age mansions, such as The Breakers, Marble House, Rosecliff, The Elms, and others. Touro Synagogue (1763), the oldest synagogue in American, and Trinity Church (1726), is where George Washington worshipped. The famous Newport jazz festival and Newport folk festival take place yearly at Fort Adams State Park. Newport is known for its Tennis Hall of Fame and as the home base for many years of the America's Cup yacht race. This historic small city is filled with picturesque homes, good restaurants, and fun shopping and sightseeing.
View from the Cliff - Rough Point Mansion - Newport, RI
Rough Point

680 Bellevue Avenue Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-847-8344

Newport mansion, museum reflect the tastes and show the collection of heiress Doris Duke

With its stunning view of the Atlantic and breathtaking rooms that reflect the life of its most recent owner - heiress, collector, and preservationist Doris Duke - the Rough Point Museum has extensive collections of fashion, fine arts, and decorative arts. Visitors to the house today hear stories of the residents of Rough Point—including Doris Duke, beloved cook Hulda Goudie, and pet camels, Princess and Baby—as you walk through the mansion rooms. Highlights include the solarium featuring breathtaking ocean views, to grand Music Room where Doris Duke practiced piano, and the Kitchen with a deluxe 1920s cigar case. Upstairs is a special exhibition where you can learn more about Doris’s life and legacy. Other not-to-be-missed objects include the Tiffany swan centerpiece, portraits by Anthony Van Dyck and a Yuan dynasty jar.
Open seasonally March-early January - For information about operating hours please check the Rough Point website.
Beavertail Lighthouse - Jamestown, RI - Photo Credit Eliza Newland
Beavertail Lighthouse

Beavertail Point, Beavertail Road Jamestown, RI Phone: 401-423-3270

While the current tower of this lighthouse was built in 1856, it sits on the site of just the third lighthouse built in the United States--back in 1749. A museum discusses the history of the lighthouse and the area.
Watson Farm Jamestown RI
Watson Farm

455 North Road Jamestown, RI Phone: 401-423-0005

This working farm is managed according to the principles of sustainable agriculture and raises heritage-breed cattle and other livestock. Visitors follow a self-guided walking tour to explore the open fields and pastures. Walk to commanding views of Narragansett Bay, stroll along the shore, and observe wildlife and the seasonal activities of the farm. The house is not open to the public. Owned and operated by Historic New England.
Hours: June 1-October 15, Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday, 1-5 p.m.
Admission: Adults, $4; seniors, $3; students and children, $2.
Touro-Synagogue in Newport
Touro Synagogue

85 Touro Street Newport, RI Phone: 401-847-4794

The oldest synagogue in North America is a worldwide symbol of religious freedom. Built in 1763, the synagogue houses the oldest torah in North America and a letter written by George Washington 1790.
Hours: Hours vary seasonally. Call for specific times or to make an appointment.
Block Island Ferry - 866.783.7996 - Click Here to Sail Away!
Trinity Church in Newport RI
Trinity Church

One Queen Anne Square Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-846-0660

Historic church completed in 1726. George Washington worshiped there when visiting Newport, and the organ was tested by George Frederick Handel before being sent from England. Contains Tiffany stained-glass windows and the only three-tiered, wine glass pulpit in America.
Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum - Bristol, RI
Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum

101 Ferry Road - RI Route 114 Bristol, RI, 02809 Phone: 401-253-2707

Blithewold is a 435-room English-style manor house and home of the prosperous Van Wickle family. Its beautiful grounds and gardens offer sweeping view of Narraganssett Bay below. The house is English Country Manor style with influences of the English Arts and Crafts Movement. Lawns, gardens, and planted beds include a rock garden, a rose garden with a centenarian Chestnut Rose; one of the tallest Giant Sequoias on the east coast.
Wanton-Lyman-Hazard House - Newport, RI
Wanton-Lyman-Hazard House - Newport Historical Society

17 Broadway Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-846-0813

The oldest restored home in Newport, built in 1675. The house is the site of the Stamp Act Riot of 1765 and was home to Colonial governors, justices, and patriots. Property also contains a Colonial herb garden.
Hours: Open for tours during special events only. Please visit the website for specific dates & times.
Redwood Library - Newport, RI
Redwood Library and Athenaeum

50 Belleville Avenue Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-847-0292

Outstanding portraits done in the 18th and 19th centuries can be found in the nation's oldest library building. The library hosts many special cultural and seasonal public events throughout the year.
Hours: Mon, Weds, Fri & Sat, 11am - 4pm.
Gray's Store

4 Main Street Little Compton, RI Phone: 401-635-4566

One of the oldest continuously operation stores in the United States, Gray's was built in 1788. On the premises are the areas original post office, built in 1804, a historic soda fountain, display cases, and an ice chest. Numerous antiques are on display, and the store has cheddar cheese, penny candy, and collectibles for sale.
Hours: Open year-round, call for operating hours.
Herreshoff Marine Museum and America's Cup Hall of Fame

1 Burnside Street Bristol, RI, 02809 Phone: 401-253-5000

The museum and hall of fame present the story of the Herreshoff Manufacturing Company and the America's Cup competition. From 1863 to 1945, the Herreshoff Manufacturing Company produced the world's finest yachts on the cutting edge of design and engineering. This Rhode Island museum's collection includes 60 original Herreshoff boats, steam engines, artifacts, and photographs from the Golden Age of Yachting.
Hours: April 26-November 2, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; other times of year by appointment.
Admission: Adults, $10; seniors over age 65, $8; military, $8, youth over age 10, $5.
Information: www.herreshoff.org/
Salve Regina University

100 Ochre Point Ave. Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-847-6650 Toll-Free: 800-321-7124

A nationally recognized university in the heart of historic Newport, Salve Regina has a beautiful oceanside campus on the edge of the scenic Cliff Walk.
Information: www.salve.edu
Newport Congregational Church - Newport, RI
Newport Congregational Church

73 Pelham Street Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-849-2238

The most recently built church for a congregation originally formed in 1695. Constructed in 1835, this is one of only two churches in the U.S. to be completely decorated by 19th century painter John LaFarge. The church was named a National Historic Landmark in 2012, and is currently undergoing a restoration. Open by appointment only.
Historic Landmark - Fort Adams State Park - Newport, RI
Fort Adams State Park

80 Fort Adams Drive Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-847-2400

An active military fort from 1799 to 1945, Fort Adams sits on over 21 acres and held up to 2,400 troops. The Fort often hosts special historical events like reenactments of battles and the daily lives of soldiers in a historic setting. The original defenses still standing include walls, powder magazines, guns and cannons, and tunnels.
Linden Place

500 Hope St. / Route 114 Bristol, RI, 02809 Phone: 401-253-0390

Linden Place mansion was built in 1810 by the seafaring General George DeWolf. The property includes the mansion, a ballroom built in 1906, a barn built in the 19th century, and an 18th-century summer house. The grounds include historic sculpture and gardens. Live music performances are offered throughout the year.
Guided tours of the estate, featured in the film "The Great Gatsby," are given May through Columbus Day, Thursday to Saturday from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. and occasional Sundays. Tours by appointment are available November through April.
Hours: Mansion and museum store, May 1 through Columbus Day, Thursday-Saturday, 10 a.m.-4 p.m., Sunday, noon-4 p.m.; office open daily, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Information: www.lindenplace.org
Whitehall Museum House

311 Berkeley Avenue Middletown, RI, 02842 Phone: 401-846-3116

Built in 1729 by Dean George Berkeley, an Anglican bishop and philosopher. The home is authentically furnished with 18th century antiques and the small gardens are landscaped with a variety of plants and flowers.
Hours: July-August, daily except Monday, 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
Admission: Adults over age 15, $5.
Old Stone Mill

Touro Park Newport, RI Phone: 401-846-1398

A bit of mystery surrounds this site: some theorize it was built by Colonial farmers, others that it is far older and actually may have been constructed by visiting Norsemen before the 15th century.
Hours: Open year-round, dawn to dusk.
Building Exterior Naval War College Museum Newport Rhode Island
Naval War College Museum

686 Cushing Road Newport, RI, 02841 Phone: 401-841-4052

Founders Hall, site of the Naval War College Museum, was making waves long before it was named a National Historic Landmark. Built in 1820, the stately structure served as the Newport Asylum for the Poor before becoming the original home of the Naval War college in 1884. It is the site where Capt. Alfred Thayer Mahan delivered his famous lectures on naval history and tactics, published in 1890 as “The Influence of Sea Power Upon History, 1660-1783.” Now it is one of nine official Navy Department museums in the nation, exhibiting artifacts and documents dating from the 1500s to today.
Jamestown Windmill

North Road, off Route 138 Jamestown, RI Phone: 401-423-1798

Built in 1787, this windmill has been restored and is owned by the Jamestown Historical Society. Tours are available.
Hours: Open mid-June to mid-September, Saturday and Sunday, 1-4 p.m. and by appointment.
Brick Marketplace - Newport, RI
Brick Marketplace

Goddard Row at Thames Street & America's Cup Avenue Newport, RI, 02840 Phone:

Originally built in 1762 as a market and granary, this complex has been restored and is now a popular mall featuring unique shops and eateries.
Seventh Day Baptist Meeting House - Newport, RI - Photo Credit Dana Jensen
Seventh Day Baptist Meeting House

82 Touro Street Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-846-0813

Next to the Newport Historical Society Museum, this church was built in 1729 and is the oldest 7th Day Baptist structure in the U.S. The pulpit is rich in decor. The building includes a William Claggett clock. Call for hours and to make an appointment.
Coggeshall Farm Museum

Off Route 114 Bristol, RI, 02809 Phone: 401-253-9062

This is a 35-acre colonial farm, established in 1750. This Rhode Island museum features rare breeds of livestock, a barn, cooling house, blacksmith, and springhouse, making it a great thing to do with kids for a family activity on vacation.
Hours: Year-round, Tuesday-Sunday, 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
Cost: Adults, $5; children, $3.
Information: www.coggeshallfarm.org.
NMAI interior-credit-National-Museum-of-American-Illustration
National Museum of American Illustration and Frederick Law Olmsted Park

Vernon Court at 492 Bellevue Avenue Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-851-8949

This essential American art form is on display at this largest collection original artworks from the Golden Age of American Illustration anywhere in the world. The museum includes artworks by N.C. Wyeth, Maxfield Parrish, Norman Rockwell, and more than 100 other artists. Vernon Court is a furnished 1898 mansion, a unique union of art and architecture, and a national treasure.
Hours: Memorial Day to Labor Day; see website for hours. Open year-round by advance reservation for groups or private tours.
Channing Memorial Church - Newport, RI
Channing Memorial Church

135 Pelham Street Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-846-0643

Built in 1880, this Unitarian Church was named for William Ellery Channing, a leader in the Unitarian Church and the abolitionist movement. The structure is built mostly of granite, and features artistic stained glass windows and a bronze plaque by Augustus Saint-Gaudens. This church was attended by Julia Ward Howe, author of the Battle Hymn of the Republic.
Hours: Open for Sunday worship at 10 a.m., and by appointment.
St. Mary's Church - Newport, RI
St. Mary's Church

12 William Street Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-847-0475

Rhode Island's oldest Roman Catholic parish was founded in 1828. The church is best known as the site of the wedding of Jacqueline Bouvier to John Fitzgerald Kennedy in 1953. Named to the National Register of historic Places in 2008.
Museum of the Artillery Company of Newport - Newport, RI
Museum of the Artillery Company of Newport

23 Clarke Street Newport, RI, 02840 Phone: 401-846-8488

In the Newport Armory, built in 1836, the museum contains a large collection of military artifacts, both from the U.S. and foreign sources representing more than 100 countries past and present. The museum is run by the Rhode Island Militia, which was chartered in 1741 and is the country's oldest military organization.
Hours: Open from Memorial Day to Columbus Day, Saturdays 10am - 2pm. Appointment required during the rest of the year. Admission is free and donations are accepted.
Great Friends Meeting House

Farewell Street and Marlborough Street Newport, RI Phone: 401-846-0813

Built in 1699, the meeting house is the oldest religious building in Newport. Features the history of the Quakers, once the dominant religion in Newport colony. Open by appointment only, call at least one week in advance.
Wilbor House Museum

548 West Main Road (Route 77) Little Compton, RI, 02837 Phone: 401-635-4035

Built in the 17th century and expanded and remodeled over the next 200 years, the property was restored in 1956 by the Little Compton Historical Society. The house contains period furniture and artifacts. The barn features historic farm items, vehicles, and tools. There is a Colonial herb garden. Guided tours available.
Hours: Late June through Labor Day and other times by special appointment.
Admission: Cost: Adults, $5; Children, $1.
Old School House

East Main Road and Union Street Portsmouth, RI Phone: 401-683-9178

The oldest schoolhouse in the United States, built in 1716. Antique textbooks, school bells, and school furniture on display.
Hours: Memorial Day-Labor Day, Saturday-Sunday, 1-4 p.m.; also by appointment.