Marijuana in Rhode Island
Recreation Use of Marijuana by adults is decriminalized
Rhode Island has decriminalized pot, meaning there is no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal use. Possession of small amount for one’s own use is treated like a minor traffic violation.
- Possession of marijuana up to one ounce by a person age 18 years or older is a civil violation, punishable by a $150 fine, no jail time, and no criminal record.
Smoking in Public:
- You may not smoke marijuana in public or in any place where you are prohibited from smoking tobacco.
Hash & Concentrates:
- Hashish and concentrates fall under the definition of marijuana.
- State law makes reference only to the “manufacture, sale, delivery, or possession with the intent to sell or deliver,” not to simple possession for personal use.
Driving Under the Influence:
- Possession while driving will result in a driver's license suspension for a period of 6 months.
This state has a drugged driving law. People may not drive a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug in their body.
- Rhode Island has medical marijuana laws. See http://norml.org/legal/item/rhode-island-medical-marijuana
Use these links for recreational marijuana laws for each New England state:
Marijuana in Connecticut
Marijuana in Massachusetts
Marijuana in Vermont
Marijuana in New Hampshire
Marijuana in Maine